The Ogle Awards 2003

WRW’s Murder of Crows Wins Honorable Mention at Ogle Awards

A Murder of Crows featured the original scripts of Cynthia McGean, Bill Gregory and Mary Robinette Kowal and was produced by Sam A. Mowry, Robert Kowal and Marty Gallagher.

Willamette Radio Workshop Cast:

Alyson Ayn Osborn, Janet Penner, Yani Berkshire-Cruse, Tim McKennie, Chris Porter, Mary Robinette Kowal, Carole Dane, Linda Norton, Cynthia McGean and Sam A. Mowry.

Sound Design and Live Foley:

John Martin Gallagher, Atticus Mowry and Rob Kowal.

The Ogle Award is given each year to honor the Best Fantasy Audio Production of the Year. The award is named for Charles Ogle who played the first Frankenstein’s creation in Edison’s silent 1910 film of the famous science fiction horror novel. Fantasy includes magical “high” fantasy, sword and sorcery, horror, modern urban fantasy, and other things that don’t fall under the criteria of Science Fiction. The Mark Time Award, and the Ogle Award, were awarded at CONvergence, July 2-3-4 of 2004.

The Mark Time Awards are the companion award to the Ogle and are given each year to honor the Best Science Fiction Audio Production on the Planet. This year Marc Rose and Jerrel McQuen also received an Honorable Mention for their series Dry Smoke and Whispers — The Shadow Man, also produced in Portland. Several members of both companies traveled to Minnesota to receive the awards, presented by David Ossman of the legendary Firesign Theater. The highlight of the opening ceremonies is an original audio theater piece written by Jerry Sterns and Brian Price called Martian Trombone. Due to an illness in the cast, Sam A. Mowry, WRW Artistic Director, was asked to step in at the last minute and performed with David Ossman and the CONvergence troupe.

The Mark Time Award is given each year to honor the Best Science Fiction Audio Production on the Planet and the Ogle Award for Best Fantasy Audio Production of the Year. Presented by The American Society For Science Fiction Audio (ASFSFA).

Judges for the 2004 Awards are listed below.

  • Henry Howard – Atlanta Radio Theatre Company
  • Kris Markman – National Audio Theatre Festivals
  • Brian Price – Great Northern Audio Theatre
  • Philip Proctor – Firesign Theatre
  • Jerry Stearns – Great Northern Audio Theatre

The Mark Time Awards are sponsored by MISFITS, the Minnesota Society for Interest in Science Fiction and Fantasy. A complete list of winners can be found at: